cellar door

a student blog

It’s Been a While!

Leave a comment

Hi everyone! Again, I’m so sorry I’ve been off the radar the past few weeks. I’ll explain shortly, but this requires a few separate posts to get you all up to speed. So. What have I been up to?

A lot of work.

There’s always that one week. It happens once a year. It comes out of the blue. You never see it coming, but you’re plugging along on your work, feeling pretty good, looking forward to Thanksgiving, and then it hits you. Like a train. Or a bus. Or a large-sized automobile which would hit you with great force.

It’s coming.

Oh no. No. No no no! Get away from me! It’s……………………………..The Week Of Doom.

*cue dramatic music*

What is The Week Of Doom, you ask? It is a week from myths and legends, from horror stories and old folk tales. If you haven’t experienced one, consider yourself lucky. Few survive The Week Of Doom to tell the tale.

Well, okay, they survive, but you won’t get much out of them for a while because they’ll be babbling uncontrollably about neutrinos and Robert Browning’s use of metaphor and/or sleeping for 12 hours at a time.

The Week Of Doom is that week where everything is happening at once. For me, it was four papers and two tests, all occurring within the span of five days. Add onto that the fact that I was missing a day of class to travel to Seattle for a high-pressure Model United Nations conference, and needless to say I was freaking out.

On Sunday, my Model UN position paper was due. It was a maximum of two pages (single-spaced, luckily), which really wasn’t too bad, but it required a great deal of research. Like most people, I know very little about Turkish agricultural development and food security off the top of my head.

On Tuesday, I had an Astronomy test. It wouldn’t have been too big of a deal, except for the fact that it was worth 10% of my grade and covered material from the past month and a half of the semester. It’s hard to remember how long the Martian year is and what percentage of Venus’ atmosphere is carbon dioxide (luckily, neither of those questions were on the test).

Wednesday was a big day. I had a Psychology test, this one worth 20% of my grade. Unlike in Astronomy, we did get a study guide to review before the test, but that meant that I had to actually do the study guide, which was 14 short-answer questions and rather time-consuming. But luckily, the material was especially interesting, so it wasn’t too bad! After that test, I had a rough draft of a five-page Encounters essay due (which I spent most of Tuesday working on). Check. I also had to pack Wednesday night, which meant doing laundry, which also took up a lot of time.

Thursday. Thursday was it. D-Day. Doom Day. Departure Day. Deadline Day. I was leaving for Seattle at 3:36 p.m. (we were very specific). I also had my other two papers due: one, a three-page paper about a current problem in Astronomy, and two, a six-to-eight-page term paper due in Anthropology (just a rough draft, luckily). Fortunately, both were rather fun–I did my astronomy paper on the accuracy of descriptions of space in a Kurt Vonnegut novel, and I did my anthro paper on representations of women in Marvel movies (one of my favorite subjects). And with those turned in, I was off! To Seattle!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.