cellar door

a student blog

The End

1 Comment

It’s weird to think that I’m almost a quarter of the way through college. It’s been a long year and a short year at the same time. Here, time does this weird thing where every day creeps along at a snail’s pace, but the weeks rush by. Seven weeks ago I was on my service trip in Portland, hanging out with a bunch of awesome little kids and teaching them long division. Twelve weeks ago I was worrying about my first paper for my politics class–the longest paper I’ve had to write this year. Sixteen weeks ago I was coming home from a month off and looking forward to all the fun new classes I would get to take. And two weeks from now I’m going to be looking back on this week and wondering how I managed to get through finals (I think I can do it).

My first year at Whitman has been spectacular. I’ve covered a lot of it on here already, but I’ll throw down some highlights anyway. Making friends with a ton of cool people. Living in a dorm. Staying up until 1 playing Dungeons & Dragons then deciding to walk to the park (we got back at 2:30 a.m.). Seeing plays and concerts and talks and lectures and musicals. Watching “How to Train Your Dragon” and “A Knight’s Tale” with free popcorn. Traveling to Seattle and Vancouver with Model UN (and possibly shouting at the UK when she confronted me about being hostile to her resolution. I was Iraq, so…yeah). Watching six fourth- and fifth-graders present their (working!) model of the urinary system. Staying in Prentiss after dinner until they turned the lights out and we had to leave. Watching applications flood into the Admission Office. Walking out to the wheat fields. Many aimless wanderings to the park (not only at 1 a.m.). Helping people make stress balls during National Stress-Out Week for Active Minds. Blogging. Watching movies in the Jewett basement and concocting schemes to get a noisy group of people to quiet down so we could hear the movie (a barricade was a good idea, but also a fire hazard). Unicycle jousting at Ren Faire (which I’ve already waxed rhapsodic about). Getting into passionate debates and discussions over Encounters texts at lunch. Being selected to be a Student Academic Adviser in the fall (I can’t wait to meet my new residents!). Reading a ton, and learning even more.

Writing possibly the longest paragraph I have ever blogged.

Anyway, this is it for me for the year. I have a lot of finals to work on, and I’m sure a lot of you do too. Stay strong!

One thought on “The End

  1. Hey, you’re totally awesome. I love how you’ve documented your first year at Whitman, and it’s been really helpful for me, desperate senior, to hear a student’s voice. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.